Page 1 of 2

How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 14:43
by EnZioBe
Is there a way to run NZBGet in Sandboxie? I cannot find a way to do this.

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 17:07
by hugbug
Any error messages?

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 17:17
by EnZioBe
Unfortunately no error messages appear. The program does not appear in the Notification Area or in the browser (Opera, which runs in a sandbox). There is a quick flash which I think is a DOS window, and then nothing. Note that this flash also appears when I run NZBGet normally (not sandboxed).

You may also note that I have both nzbget.exe and python.exe as trusted applications in Bitdefender.

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 17:27
by hugbug
Click on nzbget-command-shell.bat or open a command prompt window and start nzbget with "nzbget.exe -v" and "nzbget.exe -h". Do the commands print anything? Then try "nzbget.exe -s". For more info on commands see https://nzbget.net/console-mode and https://nzbget.net/command-line-reference.

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 18:26
by EnZioBe
All commands do print data on the screen (DOS cmd prompt).
n zbget -s shows a menu at the bottom of the screen and it appears to be sandboxed (# before and after the window title).

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 18:50
by hugbug
So everything works then?

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 18:51
by EnZioBe
I wouldn't say so, because I cannot see the GUI of the program in my browser. :(

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 18:53
by hugbug
Have you tried opening web-interface in browser after starting "nzbget.exe -s" in command prompt?

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 19:08
by EnZioBe
I ran nzbget -s in command prompt, but how do I start the browser in web-interface? If I simply try to run nzbget.exe, nothing comes up in the browser.

Re: How to run NZBGet in Sandboxie?

Posted: 11 Jul 2017, 19:18
by hugbug
Well, how one would start a browser, hmm. Let me think... how about clicking on an icon with red fox or a circle splitted in three colour sectors with a blue point in the middle? ;)
Then type the address of NZBGet's built-in web-server, by default "http://localhost:6789".