Brainstorming: Folder and File names cleanup script

Share your scripts or request scripts with specific features.
Forum rules
Please keep the forum clean - one topic per script. Questions not related to a specific script should be posted in Support forum.
Endeavour79

Brainstorming: Folder and File names cleanup script

Post by Endeavour79 » 27 May 2013, 06:32

:idea: :?: :idea:
This is a brainstorming topic.
:idea: :?: :idea:

I am fairly new to NZBGet V11 and much newer to Python programming but I am willing to try my best to create a nice post processing script.
For most of the downloads I am annoyed by all the different file and folder names with all the tags and additional information in it.

My idea is to create a script that basically walks down folder/subfolder/file level and renames the folder and files, cleaning out all the unnecessary information.
Afterwards, it put's the files into the proper folder.

More graphical:

Code: Select all

WorkFolder:
Downloads\Movies\Sub\Sub1\filename year abcd free xvid.mkv
Download\Games\Free\English\Free Demo gamename.iso
The script should run and strip all the junk, clean up the file names and put the files in an Archive

Code: Select all

Archive Dir:
Archive\Movies\(optinal Sub1 year)\filename.mkv
Archive\Ganes\(optional Gamefolder)\gamename.iso
I am still in concept phase, wondering if:
  • This was done before?
  • Your opinion if this is possible, reasonable or not?
  • Best method on how to determine what strings to remove?
  • What method would you use to configure/control the script (example config file containing (to be removed)words, reading some info from the nzb file, ...)?
  • Your ideas on potential additional features for this script ?
Thank you for your input and constructive feedback!

Cheers, End 8-)

hugbug
Developer & Admin

Re: Brainstorming: Folder and File names cleanup script

Post by hugbug » 27 May 2013, 07:42

There is clearly a demand for such a script.